How do reverse osmosis membranes fail?

Users who are viewing this thread

Beets

Reaction score
I've been using a 75 GPD RO system for about 15 years. I've never had a membrane fail. I replaced the RO filter once; not because it needed to be replaced, but just because I thought maybe I should. I didn't notice any difference after replacement. I check TDS once or twice a year and it is about 10 times lower than inlet TDS. So my question is how do they fail? Does their productivity drop off? Does the TDS all of the sudden become elevated?

Thank you in advance.

Bannerman

Reaction score
TDS rejection will become lower thereby causing higher TDS in the product water (permeate).

The typical membrane replacement interval for most residential under counter drinking water systems is 3-5 years.

Beets

Reaction score
@Bannerman - Thank you. Mine is hydrotech. Not sure if that is a good brand or not? How high would the TDS get before someone would proactively replace? I'm curious why the TDS increases? My understanding of RO filter is that it is sort of like a molecular sieve that filters out the larger salt particles. Maybe that's wrong - I'm curious why it would let through more with time? Normally filters plug off, so I think I've got the wrong idea of what an RO filter is doing?

Bannerman

Reaction score
RO membrane is similar to attempting to force water through a plastic bag. The pore size is approx. 0.001 microns which is usually large enough for only water to pass through, but too small for larger molicules including bacteria, cysts and minerals.

The membrane is not considered a filter as it does not function to collect and hold filtered contaminants, but rejected contaminants must be flushed away on a continual basis. This is the purpose for water continually flowing to drain while the unit is producing RO water.