Switching to tankless combi-boiler

Users who are viewing this thread

Drowhawk

Reaction score
Greetings! My fiance and I are new homeowners as of November. Our home came with a Buderus G115.3 boiler system that did an excellent job of keeping us warm this winter. Unfortunately the boiler and water heater in the basement take up so much room, we are switching to a tank-less combi-boiler for our heating and DHW needs.

Initially we thought it would be as easy as calling our trusted HVAC guy and setting up the installation. After contacting 12 local HVAC installers and not receiving a single call back, let alone an appointment, we realized we were completely on our own. This was no matter as I am a master automotive tech and looking forward to learning, I decided to order the Navien NCB250-150H combi-boiler from my local distributor.

The more I started to read about properly piping a system, the more I realized I may need some guidance in designing the new system. I'm pretty confident I'm on the right track but I'm hoping some fine folks here can point me in the right direction.

Please forgive my poor drawing skills, but I have mapped out our current boiler setup in addition to a proposed setup for the new unit. Pictures are attached. Basically the current system has one pump with the boiler in series and 3 zone valves that control the baseboard radiators upstairs. From what I have read, it is better to control the zones with individual circulation pumps and check valves, and to pipe the boiler in parallel to the primary piping.

On a side note: I will be using Sharkbite fittings to tie into existing copper. I am no good with a torch and solder and figured that Sharkbite would be a safe bet (other than additional cost). They are certified for use in hydronic heating systems according to their website. Can pex be used instead of copper to tie into existing piping? The boiler is moving to a different part of the basement so some additional piping will be required.