Question about Washing Machine Vent on Same Drain as Laundry Sink

Users who are viewing this thread

MudddyJeep810

Reaction score
First off, I am not a professional plumber but I have done quite a bit of minor plumbing, relocating vanity drains, relocating shower drains, etc. For this one I have more than one fixture draining into the same pipe and I am unsure of the codes regarding this.

In my laundry room we had a washing machine that was previously draining into a laundry sink and we are remodeling the room to add some cabinetry in the location of the laundry sink. We are eliminating the basin style free-standing laundry sink, and doing a drop in that will be centered in a sink base cabinet with other cabinets on either side of it. This means I can no longer drain my washing machine into the launddry sink and I need to plumb a new laundry drain.

The way it was before, the old laundry sink just had a P trap and then ran through the studs to the corner of the room, approximately 5 feet away. In this corner, the drain went down under the cement slab and tied into the main. Where the drain went down, there is also a vent that goes up through the roof.

What I want to do is move the laundry sink a few feet closer to the corner, and then where the washing machine will be I want to plumb a washing machine drain/supply box. With how the plumbing is ran where the drain ties into the vent and goes into/under the cement slab there are quite a few fittings, so it's really only possible to have the single horizontal drain pipe (with pitch) that connects to both the new laundry sink, and the washing machine drain.