pvc vs copper

Users who are viewing this thread

little buddy

Reaction score
I am wanting to run a cold water line around my pool area and a hot and cold line to my gazeebo. I am having new concrete poured and would like to run these line under the concrete. Which would be best, pvc or copper? I will have the capability to drain these lines for the winter.

little buddy

Reaction score
Thanks Rancher, as you can see I am new at this. Any suggestions or advise wil be greatly appreaciated. I have enjoyed looking at other peoples problems and the solutions.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
pipe

Under concrete I would not use PVC if possible. If it breaks, and I have a situation like that right now, you will be breaking the Kool-deck to repair it.

little buddy

Reaction score
Thanks Hj for your reply.I understand what you're saying about using pvc, however what would if a joint in the copper would start to leak? { I guess a leak would be better than a broken pvc pipe.Hhhhhhhh}

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Use a roll of soft copper and you won't have any fittings underground, only at the ends.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
Is there any way you can avoid burying the line in concrete? Maybe a channel in the concrete for the pipe with a cover plate or around the side(s) of the slab? Water and drains that are covered with solid concrete eventually fail and then you have a real dilemma.

Chris75

Electrician
Reaction score
IF it were mine i'd probably run a 3" pvc conduit then pull the water line thru that, this way I can always replace in the future...

little buddy

Reaction score