Plumbing Advice for Disposal Removal

Users who are viewing this thread

jws86

Reaction score
Hello all! New here and looking for some advice. I have basic plumbing experience but this setup underneath my drain is new to me. I want to get rid of this nasty disposal in our home. It's seized up and keeps backing up even when we drain water on the other side. What is the best way to go about routing this plumbing once I remove the disposal? I'm not familiar this large (double Y?) setup in the middle both sides route to. Can I just block off the side with the disposal with a cap and run it all to one side? What's best practice here? I've read there should only be one P trap and currently there is 2. Any tips would be appreciated so I don't have to call a dang plumber out here.

IMG_1012.jpeg
IMG_1011.jpeg
IMG_1010.jpeg

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
Ive never put 2 traps Ive seen it on all the east where codes are IPC or not enforced Never even seen it here but undoubtedly its been done Id cap it off like you said unless I wanted to clean it up, I dont even know if a 2 inch trap arm flys in your area that is then reduced to 1 1/2 p trap in your area

jws86

Reaction score
Ive never put 2 traps Ive seen it on all the east where codes are IPC or not enforced Never even seen it here but undoubtedly its been done Id cap it off like you said unless I wanted to clean it up, I dont even know if a 2 inch trap arm flys in your area that is then reduced to 1 1/2 p trap in your area
Yeah I’m not so much worried about cleaning it up I guess. Doesn’t really matter to me how it looks I just want it to function and drain properly.

GReynolds929

Reaction score
Easiest is to install a basket, and flanged tailpiece down into the trap.

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score