PEX connections is expansion better?

Users who are viewing this thread

Eman85

Reaction score
I'm not a plumber. I see posts about PEX installation and it seems most like expansion type A connections. I am just a handyman type of homeowner but have done complete repipes with PEX. I use crimp and cinch and both have worked well for me and I have multiple tools for doing both.
What is it about expansion that would be considered better? I know professional plumbers in my area and they use mostly cinch type stainless rings.

bingow

Reaction score
DIYer here, to add to your question for the pros. A consideration is future replacement of a fitting, and the ability to get the tool in position. I would think crimp would be easier.

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
I am a plumber but never ran pex except for heat and ran uponnor on a huge job for around 6 monthes I liked the process of Expansion but other wise no real opinion one observation is crimp fittings have significantly smaller id and restrict flow more so than Expansion
I dont even have any tools for pex I suppose I should at least have a crimp tool but never bought one

GReynolds929

Reaction score
A is more flexible and easier to work. Kinks can be removed by heating the kinked section of pipe. Fittings have a larger ID for better flow. Easier to work in tight spaces as you can expand away from the fitting and put on in tight clearances. The pipe and ring is always trying to get back to its original size and tightening on the fittings. Pipe is practically freeze burst proof except for the fittings. Etc...

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
however there are complaints of leaks and damage , repiping needed on uponor expansion hard to tell how widespread but there are some unhappy owners

GReynolds929

Reaction score