Garbage Disposal Clogged - already used a 25' snake

Users who are viewing this thread

KBrum

Reaction score
Hello all. I'm in need of some help as I have very little plumbing knowledge and this is the first time I've had a disposal in my home.

My garbage disposal is backing up into my sinks. I started with a sink plunger (but didn't cover the sink overflow to increase pressure), followed it with turning the motor with an allen wrench (moves freely, no resistance or humming when I run it), took apart the pipe line (no clog in the lines down to the trap). My PVC pipes are cemented together starting after the trap pipe, so I was unable to remove the trap and other pipes leading to the main drain at the back of the wall. I did however run a 25' snake all the way down through the trap twice. There wasn't much caught in the snake when I pulled it back out either time. The second time there was very little resistance at the end. Felt more like working through bends in the pipeline (but again I have very little knowledge about any of this). It was still clogged. I then put Liquid Plumber down it (I know. Probably bad) hoping it would break up whatever is left in the drain. So far no luck.

When I run the disposal, it pushes water up into the opposite sink, then slowly drains back into the disposal sink until even. But running the disposal does decrease the amount of water.

Do I just need a longer snake? Did my snake go down the wrong pipes somehow? I do have a dishwasher right next to the sinks, but am afraid to run it in case it backs up.

Attached is a photo of what I believe is an access to the main drain, but am unsure. I sent the snake down it once (before I better understood how to use the snake) and kept hitting something that would rattle (like metal). There is a picture of the snake I used as well.

Please help :( . I am not looking to hire anyone ($$$$) but if there is no hope of me doing this myself, I'll do what I have to do.

Thank you!!

Attachments