Replacing sink, removing disposal, at a loss on how to set up drain..

Users who are viewing this thread

Erik1776

Reaction score
I had a 2 bowl drop in sink (1 shallower to allow for garbage disposal) that I am replacing with an undermount sink. I already chose a sink that was less deep (9' instead of standard 10"). Dishwasher used to drain into the garbage disposal which is not up to code here (IL).
I am trying to figure out how to set this up using the wye dishwasher tail pipe with the height of the drain pipe I am dealing with..
Be kind.. beginner here, trying to figure this out.
Please note the picture has a dishwasher drain set up that is not meant to stay there. I am trying to fix that set up.
So Any ideas on how this should be set up so that the P trap is at the right heigh, the dishwasher wye is in the right spot and everything is set up correctly?
I am not in a single family home so cant really touch the waste drain, changing the height (which we considered to keep the disposal) was just too much to undertake.

drain 3.jpeg

drain 2.jpeg

Drain 1.jpeg

Reach4

Reaction score
The output of the disposal must not be lower than the trap adapter.

What is the altitude difference between the bottom of the sink and the middle of the drain line? A laser level is handy for measuring that.

If not more than 6 inches with a non-stainless sink, then you will need to open the wall.
If not more than 6.5 inches with a stainless steel sink, then you will need to open the wall.

Last edited:

Erik1776

Reaction score
Thanks, I am actually not having a disposal anymore. What I having an issue with is fitting the dishwasher drain while working with such a high waste pipe. am I missing something?

Reach4

Reaction score
Got ya. https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulat...sher (Private Residence,spill rim of the sink.