Service Water line replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

kmason0614

Reaction score
I have a contract with a HVAC company that offered for a plumber to come out and do an inspection. I thought I was being a responsible homeowner but I am having regrets.

Everything on the inside of out home looked great but when he got to the service line, he basically said he is surprised we hadnt had sewage in our basement. He quoted us 20-23K for the replacement of 85 feet of service line and new water main, there was a belly which he showed me on the camera in the first 40 feet of the pipe and there was one area with one root and one area where he said it was an obvious chunk of my pipe had fallen (im not an expert but I am not sure that is what it was). It is also buried at 9 feet but if they replaced it they would bury it at 8 feet (for a few thousand less)

The home was built 1950's, there is only two of us in the home, we occasionally have a shower back up which is usually fixed by snaking the line. We have no other issues at this time. We dont flush tampons or wipes and dont dump grease. We both work out of the home so we also arent using a bathroom 24/7 at home. We have lived in the home for the last 3 years and no other major issues besides the shower drain.

I felt that he was
1. Playing on the fact that I was the female getting this information rather than my husband so played up the fear.
2. He is a sales guy too so he told me a horror story about people who waited and they ended up with a back up in their home + the replacement.
3. He also said it needed done this week.
4. my only option was full replacement.

I guess I am more concerned that I dont want to be ripped off and taken advantage off. Because on top of this I just had to get a new car so something to this extent would tighten up my finances for the next 5 years. Plus the warning signs of there being a service line issue I have not seen or smelled.