Likely Failed Filox, need suggestions

Users who are viewing this thread

Aaroninnh

Reaction score
Back in 2015 I worked with one of the more reputable internet suppliers to design a treatment system. My symptoms were occasional blue/green water. Pink stains around drains, and black slime in toilet tank/sink. Wasn't a major problem, more of a minor annoyance. I had a local lab do a water test.

pH 6.8 (although I've tested as low as 6.4)
Hardness 20ppm
Iron .1ppm
Manganese .025ppm
Copper .2ppm
ORP +307mv @54
They sold me the following:
1.5CuFt 10x54 Calcite Vortex Tank w/ 5600sxt
1.0CuFt 10x44 Filox Vortex Tank w/ 5600sxt
9x48 Magical Descaler

I was a rookie at the time but had done some research, so when the Filox valve showed up with a 3.5GPM DLFC, I was surprised. I reached out to them and asked if it was a mistake and got the following reply:

"I emailed the distributor this morning to see what DLFC Button they typically install in the backwash 1.0 cu/ft Filox Filters..... using a Standard Resin Tank & then a Vortech Resin Tank....

What is DLFC Button used for a 1 cu/ft Filox backwashing filter with a Standard Resin Tank.... and then with a Vortech Resin Tank....?
(Filox Media backwashes at 12-15 gpm sq/ft)

A.) 5.0 for Standard Tank and 3.5 for Vortech Tank

Since we started marketing equipment online in 1995... we have always relied on the distributors that drop ship our orders, to follow recommendations of the manufacturers, when installing DLFC Buttons on the equipment we market.

FYI.... I have 4.0, 5.0 & 7.0 DLFC Buttons in stock... Let me know which one you decide that you would like to use, and I will send it to you.

>>> Note: We cannot be responsible to any loss of media down the drain, by installing a higher GPM flow rate button than has been recommended by the distributor <<<
"