K60

Users who are viewing this thread

Randy in Iowa

Reaction score
Hi all, new here but but I've been learning a lot.

I just brought my k60 out of a decade long hibernation but I'm having some issues. The backstory is simple, I just needed to re-plumb the service to and from the softener because the old brass one piece bypass manifold set finally corroded into being unusable (I couldn't [open] the bypass valve at all).

Today I was watching the meter run and the advance pawl was pushing the toothed gear clockwise as it was supposed to but the meter disk was moving backwards (or at least the visible black dot was). Is that the way it works? I didn't have time to run enough water to see if went into regen mode. It pushed through six teeth however and the dot moved counterclockwise. I'll go back down and look after my shower.

I'll have plenty more questions but for now I'm just getting started on learning about water hardness. I am on a well with one sediment filter. The water as bypassed was very good tasting but the rust and lime scale is ruining all the modern fixtures in the house, the older than 50 years fixtures work just fine with hard water. My water pressure is low at the new Moen kitchen faucet and the new bath faucets just installed 10 months ago. The house is plumbed with CPVC throughout. Plastic Poly pipe out the well house. Very short stretches of galvanized in the well house and PVC drop pipe to the pump.

For now however my issue is with the #4 meter disk apparently moving in the wrong direction.

Thanks for any assistance!

Last edited:

Randy in Iowa

Reaction score
Hi All, Not much interest in my question I guess, so here's another couple.
I feel a rebuild might be necessary so I was looking for rebuild kits. There seems to only be one source from the UK. However, I did find x-profile O-rings at Mcmaster-Carr made from Buna-n.
So, the questions are;
are x-profile rings the standard that came in new machines?