How to install an "always hot" receptacle into an empty junction box with multiple lines from a switched outlet?

Users who are viewing this thread

Sactownhero

Reaction score
Hi guys, total newb here. I'm hoping for some advice. Here's my situation:

1) I want to install a water softener in my garage where there is currently an unused (solid faceplate) junction box nearby.

2) I removed the solid faceplate and it revealed that there are currently three sets of wires coming into the box (three blacks, three whites, and three copper ground wires). I'm assuming this means this is part of a chained circuit.

3) The chain is from a switched outlet that controls the exterior porch lights. It is only hot when the switch is turned on.

4) I need to keep the current light switch in place, as I use it to turn on and off the exterior porch lights that are also on the same circuit. (I do not wish to mess with the light switch wiring at all.)

5) Is there a way for me to configure the sets of wires in the junction box so I can install an "always hot" outlet (2 plugs) for my water softener system? I only need one of the two outlets to be always hot for the water softener, if that matters.

Appreciate any tips, advice, etc.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
If the three blacks are tied together, then there is not an always hot feed into the box so not possible to tap in to power the softener. This can be confirmed by checking voltage on each black to see which one brings the voltage to the box and then confirming the voltage is only present when the switch is on.

I assume the three whites are also tied together and that there is not a separate white that has black tape or Sharpie marking to indicate it is not a neutral.

Sactownhero

Reaction score