Copper pipe soldering: Flux burns the moment I apply heat

Users who are viewing this thread

FreeLander

Reaction score
Hello,
Beginner here. I have a heat exchanger that has a copper manifold. What I'm planning to do is solder the 1" inlet to a copper to CPV adaptor. Since the heat exchanger is expensive, I decided to buy 1/2 pipes with fittings to practice.

I did prep the pipes well and put a generous amount of flux, but the moment I apply heat the flux evaporates instantly and the solder won't stick. I decrease the heat but the flux just evaporates.

For the torch, I could not find MAPP or Putane so I went with Butane.

What am I doing wrong?

Attachments

• IMG_4976-min.JPG
    IMG_4976-min.JPG
    84.5 KB · Views: 289
  • IMG_4977-min.JPG
    IMG_4977-min.JPG
    47.8 KB · Views: 255
  • IMG_4978-min.JPG
    IMG_4978-min.JPG
    96.2 KB · Views: 272
  • IMG_4979-min.JPG
    IMG_4979-min.JPG
    57.4 KB · Views: 233
  • IMG_4980-min.JPG
    IMG_4980-min.JPG
    123.6 KB · Views: 233
  • IMG_4981-min.JPG
    IMG_4981-min.JPG
    128.1 KB · Views: 228

Mr tee

In the Trades
Reaction score
It looks like you are heating the pipe, you need to heat the center of the elbow.

James Henry

In the Trades
Reaction score
Turn your flame down, it's way to high, then go back and forth over the pipe and fitting with the flame and every few seconds touch the joint with the solder, when it melts to the touch remove the flame and only apply the flame to the pipe when the solder stops melting. after the joint is soldered wait for the solder joint to go from shiny to dull then wipe it down rigorously with a cotton cloth.
Wear cotton gloves when soldering so you don't burn your hands on the hot pipe.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score