140’ well, water level at 20’, how deep to put my 12v pump?

Users who are viewing this thread

James Hird

Reaction score
Hi, I’m new to the fourm.

Installing a 12vdc pump (10a max current) in my 140’ well.

I’ve only got 100’ of 10awg wire. The voltage drop is crazy if I use this, something like 17%.

I can’t afford to buy 6awg wire which I think it needs.

The water level in the well is 20’ below the surface. The pumps max flow rate is 3.6gpm.

What is stopping me from putting my pump at 50’ down the well. Doubling up on the 10awg wire to get an equivalent of around 7awg.

I solve my voltage drop problem by reducing the length of the conductor by half and doubling the thickness of it.

Are there any problems having a pump this size in the middle of the well. It only pumps 3 or 4 gpm. The well was producing 30+gpm when it was drilled. It was flowing to fast to measure. The guy thought it might go artesian.

Another option I though of was to get a 24v pump. Higher voltage, less amps. I’ve already bought the 22v pump though and it’s past the 30day return policy.

Thanks in advance,

James

Reach4

Reaction score
Installing a 12vdc pump (10a max current) in my 140’ well.

I’ve only got 100’ of 10awg wire. The voltage drop is crazy if I use this, something like 17%.
If you double up, you would need 200 ft of #10 to put your pump 50 ft down.

But putting the pump 25 ft down would work if the water level stays above the pump.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
Are there any problems having a pump this size in the middle of the well. It only pumps 3 or 4 gpm. The well was producing 30+gpm when it was drilled. It was flowing to fast to measure. The guy thought it might go artesian.
If the well produces that much, the only reason to set it much lower is if the static water level drops. Doubling or quadrupling the wire would be challenging to ensure a water-tight seal on the splice. I suggest breaking open the piggy bank and getting the right gauge of wire.