Regen Periodically with High Salt Dose?

Users who are viewing this thread

samgillis

Reaction score
Hey everybody,

I just installed a Culligan 10" downflow softener myself and got it working great. Hardness is only about 17gpg and my salt dose is 6lbs.

I have read that having lower doses can mean you're only regenerating the resin higher up in the tank/you're only using the resin higher in the tank and ultimately don't get full and efficient use of the total capacity.

Would it, therefore, be beneficial to periodically regen with a higher salt dose to get all the resin "turning over" more?

If I'm completely off base then please let me know. I'm new to the workings of softener systems.

Mswlogo

Reaction score
6 lbs per regen sounds really low for that much hardness.

Are you sure it’s not 6 lbs / cu ft?

17 gpg is considered extremely hard water.

How many cu ft resin do you have?

How have you set up all your other parameters?

samgillis

Reaction score
My TDS is 275 on the high side, so just rounded up to 300 and calculated that to be around 17 gpg, which I know is hard but didn't think was extremely hard. My previous house's TDS was over 1000 so that's what I consider extremely hard.

I went with a higher average consumption of 100 gallons per day, so 1700 grains per day. It's a 1.5 cu ft resin tank. The manual lists the efficiency dosage as 4463g/6lb salt dosage, so that's what I went with since it seemed like I wasn't going to use up the capacity very quickly.

Reach4

Reaction score
The resin gets shuffled up during backwash. If it is working well enough for you, be happy. If it starts getting hardness leakage, you can adjust something then.

I do agree that 6 lbs of salt for 1.5 cuft of resin is too light for most people.

Bannerman

Reaction score
A 10" diameter tank will most commonly contain 1.5 cubic feet (ft3) of media.