(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Do you pros use flexible supply lines? Any tips?

Default Do you pros use flexible supply lines? Any tips?

In the "toilets" section, Cass gave what I thought was a great tip - if you use a flexible stainless steel water supply line to your toilet, use a longer rather than a shorter line, so that you can gently loop it. I would not have thought of that!

So, got me to wondering. Do the pros on this site use braided steel lines, or conventional "hard" supply lines to toilets and faucets?

If you do use flexible lines, any other great tips you'd like to share?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Terry; 01-16-2008 at 05:13 PM.

I'm not a pro, but I'm pretty certain the pros always use flex lines with the braided stainless steel covering.

Some guys take a real " old school " approach, which is fine. But the price and labor savings of the flexies are hard to ignore. And in my mind, they are light years ahead of the old integral corrugated metal valve/flex combos, which licensed plumbers all over the country installed by the millions in new construction, because they were cheap and quick. I'll take an SS flex any day.

I prefer the flexible PVC supply lines.

IMHO, they resist "knotting" and "kinking" better than the SS lines when tightening down the compression nuts.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Verdeboy; 11-11-2007 at 10:52 AM.

I default to chrome supplies, flexes only get used when I have some kind of reason not to use chrome. Hard lines are a little cheaper then flex lines so it's really just the labor. Once you get the hang of bending it only takes a couple minutes to install a hard line which in my opinion it is a much more finished and professional look then a thick braided line with a loop in it that anyone with a wrench can throw on.
    Last edited by Marlin336; 11-11-2007 at 11:42 AM.

Northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati Area