Use of Well Pump for Irrigation

Users who are viewing this thread

OBX Guy

Reaction score
I have installed several irrigation system but they have all been on city water with good pressure.
Now I am in Brazil building a house for the in-laws....
I have a swallow well with 4.5m depth. I am using a 1" pipe to the pump. The pump exit is 1" going to a 3000 liter tank about 8m high. I don't really care about how long it takes to fill, anything around 500 to a 1000 liters is fine. However I want to use the pump for irrigation also.
I am choosing a Schneider self priming centrifugal 3 phase pump rated at .75CV (MBA-ZL) I am an electrical engineer so I like 3 phase stuff. This gives me 10 GPM volume which is enough to feed 5 to 10 1806 rainbird heads. Don't have any large areas. This gives me about 10 zones. I could go to a 1CV pump and use less zones but I'd rather fill the water tank at a slower rate.
So the question..... will this work since I do not have a tank for the irrigation system... just pump direct to sprinkler heads. I do not want to use the 3000 liter tank because it is feed from the well and city water. The city water has no pressure to use for irrigation and better to use free water than chlorinated water.
Any input would be appreciated.... Just didn't want to buy this pump and then find out a different pump would have worked better for dual purposes...

Reach4

Reaction score
Well diameter is not big enough for a submersible? Those are centrifugal too. Those need no priming, which is better than self priming. About twice the pumping per watt.

Some above-ground pumps are jet pumps that increase pressure by using a nozzle and a venturi. Irrigation pumps usually do not have a jet, and may have more than one centrifugal stage.

Does 0.75CV mean 0.75kW? HP?

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
I have a swallow well with 4.5m depth.
I think you meant shallow. 4.5m is less than 15 feet for our American friends.