Pressure switches and floats

Users who are viewing this thread

Dragos2017

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm really new to this, so if I don't explain something well enough, chances are I don't understand it..

I could really use some help in understanding how my system works as a whole.

I have two current problems with my setup. First, the well pump (underground) isn't working. Second, the pump that moves water from the cistern to the pressure tank doesn't always kick in when it needs to. I believe the pump works ok.

My setup: I have a 212 ft well and the pump is about at 208. I have a static water level of about 92 ft. I don't know the strength of the pump - I moved into the setup.

I have a 2500 gallon cistern with three float switches. We've been hauling water for about a month now.. and it's time to get this stuff fixed.

I checked the capacitor on the Pump control box and it was shot- so I replaced it, thinking it was an easy win. I also removed the pump saver that was attached and tried it without- still didn't work. I remembered that I had to replace that capacitor several months ago. Got me thinking that maybe the relay was bad, but I don't know how to test it and I haven't bough a backup control box yet.. I figure I would get one and switch the cover and see if it kicked in. Regardless, it still didn't work. All the voltage checks out though. (L1 and 2, RYB)

Then yesterday, family calls me at work and says we're out of water. I go home, and the cistern is still full, but there's zero pressure in the house. I grab the middle float and flip it, and the pressurizing pump kicks in. Is that going to be a float problem, or a pressure switch replacement? I bought a new pressure switch last night, and will install this weekend.