New homeowner - well not working

Users who are viewing this thread

Mandinca

Reaction score
I am new to my home that has city water as well as a non-working well pump. I would like to revive the well to use for irrigation so I started troubleshooting.
It's supplied by 230V on a dedicated double breaker at my main panel. That feeds an isolation switch which then feeds the pressure switch then to the control box and then to the submersible pump.

The control box says it's for a 230V 1/2 HP pump so without pulling the pump I have to assume that it's a 1/2 HP pump.

The pump itself has four wires coming from it to the well-head.
They are yellow, red, black and green.
The yellow, red and black are spliced into the wires going to the control but the green has been cut and taped off. There is no green to the control box.

So far I have established that, since there is no pressure at all in the tank, that the pressure switch is "on" - I have confirmed this by measuring 230V at the control box. The control box had a broken-looking capacitor in it so I have replaced that, like for like.

Since I have limited electrical knowledge I just used a voltage "sniffer" on the wires on the pump side of the splices in the top of the well shaft that I mentioned earlier - voltage is detected when everything is "on".

Is it safe to me assume that everything up until the pump is working correctly and that the pump is what failed, or maybe the 3 wire from the splices to the pump ?

According to the town municipal offices the city water was connected to the home about 6 years ago, presumably because the well failed somehow.