Galvanized pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

Lappo424

Reaction score
So nothing is leaking and I'm kinda new at this stuff.

The pipe coming from the wall is threaded. I assume it's galvanized steel. When I have to switch the shut off do I just unthread the old one?
Do they still make shut offs like that?

Also I will be very careful and try not to damage the pipe coming from the wall but that's threaded too. Should I replace that as well.

Attachments

• pipe.pdf
    669.6 KB · Views: 63

Reach4

Reaction score
They certainly make valves for that.

When faced with a galvanized nipple, I turned the nipple CCW, and it unscrewed in the wall. I think I lucked out. I put in brass. I later replaced that with PEX, because I got into replacing some galvanized with PEX.

Lappo424

Reaction score
So when the time comes to change it would you just change the angle stop and not the pipe?

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
No you need to change that pipe. Someone used black iron. Change it to brass. Also remove the escutcheon at the ceiling and make sure what your attaching to is either brass or copper.

Lappo424

Reaction score
No you need to change that pipe. Someone used black iron. Change it to brass. Also remove the escutcheon at the ceiling and make sure what your attaching to is either brass or copper.
Could I disconnect the pipe and you a male sharkbite brass adapter. Then use copper or PEX from the wall to the new shut off

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
You could, but that's not what I'm saying.

I'm saying that whatever that black pipe is threded into needs to be checked.

The black pipe needs to go. You can replace it with a brass nipple as long as there's brass or copper in the wall.

Lappo424

Reaction score
You could, but that's not what I'm saying.

I'm saying that whatever that black pipe is threded into needs to be checked.