Black liquid in the salt tank

Users who are viewing this thread

Bthorpe24

Reaction score
I have a Marlo CMCV Combo water softener and there is a black liquid in the salt tank. It is at the top of the water line and only around the perimeter of the tank, about 1/2 inch thick all the way around. Feels like a slimy film, or maybe similar to motor oil. I’ve read some other threads that say mold can form in the tanks. But, I’ve never seen mold that looks like this and sits on top of water, but I’m not very experienced in water softeners. we are on a well, have hard water, and I do have a Res-up automatic feeder with Res Care cleaner. Will attach a photo. Any thoughts on this?

IMG_0661.jpeg

Reach4

Reaction score
Take some black stuff, and see what effect some bleach solution has.

You can sanitize your brine tank with bleach. For a new softener, the Fleck 5810 manual suggests 1.2 fluid ounces of 5.25% Sodium Hypochlorite (chlorine bleach) for every cubic ft of resin. So if you wanted to sanitize the brine tank, that might be a good amount for fairly soon after a regen (to let it sit with the brine for a week or so) to put into the brine tank every year or two. For 2 cuft of resin, that would be 5 tablespoons of 5.25% or 3.15 tablespoons of 8%.

Also you don't have enough salt, unless you were emptying the tank to clean your tank. How many years since you cleaned your brine tank. You might want to clean the brine tank after about 2000 pounds of salt, depending on what you see. For normal operation, keep some salt above the water level, although one person would disagree that that that is important. Salt stratifies. Did you ever notice that the level in the brine tube is higher than the level of liquid in the brine tank?

Bthorpe24

Reaction score
Take some black stuff, and see what effect some bleach solution has.