Adapter for this shower arm to replace shower head... ?

Users who are viewing this thread

MicheleGia

Reaction score
Hello... I just moved into a new apartment and wanted to replace the Kohler rain shower head as the pressure is very weak. When I removed it, I saw that there was a ball attached at the end of the shower head which is then attached to the arm by a thread.

I've researched adapters and feel there must be something out there that I could attach without having to remove the arm (I have tried to remove the arm. Several times. But it almost feels like it is cemented in and after reading about pipes breaking, I do not want to risk damaging anything since this is a new rental.)

From what I understand (and I am very new to plumbing terminology, so forgive me) the thread I would need is slightly larger than standard and it also has to be female to male in order for it to work with the standard shower head I'd like to replace it with?

I've attached photos. I'd really appreciate any help. Thank you.

IMG_7647.JPG

This is the shower head I'd like to remove...
IMG_7647.JPG

This is the thread used to hold it into the arm:

IMG_7648.JPG

This is the arm:

IMG_7623.JPG

This is the new shower head I'd like to put in:

IMG_7653.jpg

These are the pieces that I've researched but not sure they will work:

IMG_7651.jpg IMG_7650.jpg

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
What you have in the wall is a standard 1/2" female iron pipe fitting. If you pick up a new shower arm, the new head will thread to that. Those come with 1/2" threads on both ends. When I thread in the new shower arm, I like to assemble the shower head first, and that gives me more leverage to spin the arm in. Or you can also use a screwdriver in the end of the arm for more leverage. That way you're not putting pliers on the arm and scratching it.

Last edited:

MicheleGia

Reaction score