Search results

1. Mike Garrod

Shut offs for wall mounted fixtures?

im installing a bunch of wall mounted lav faucets which I have never done before. Just wondering where and how the shut offs are usually plumbed. My thinking is that you just come out of wall, have an in-line ball valve, then go back into wall and tie into the rough in. Is this how it’s done...
  2. Mike Garrod

Expansion tank for hot water tank?

According to Canadian NPC, provision must be made for thermal expansion when check valves or pressure reducing valves are installed. Is the T&P relief valve sufficient to meet this requirement? Or must an expansion tank be installed. I always install an expansion tank when check valves are...
  3. Mike Garrod

ABS into old hub & spigot pipe?

Anyone know of any sure fire ways to tie ABS pipe INTO the hub of old hub and spigot cast iron pipe? I've seen a few ways online but wanted some plumbers who do a lot of service or residential reno's advice. I think Fernco makes a gasket, and I've also seen someone who used oakum and hydraulic...
  4. Mike Garrod

RPBA install req's

I am installing a Watts 2" RPBA. I have it installed at 6'4". I know max height is 60" unless a 'permanent platform' is built. My question is what is the definition/purpose of a 'permanent platform'? I have heard two differing opinions. One is that a platform is req'd solely for the testing...
  5. Mike Garrod

Strictly re-piping houses. Economically viable business?

i worked in re-pipe for years in Vancouver BC recouping big and small apartment buildings. It is a profitable market in that sense. I have a friend who wants to do "residential re-pipes" and something tells me it's just not worth it. Seems to me that most plumbing companies already offer re pipe...
  6. Mike Garrod

B2B showers w/ extreme pressure variations