(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: HELP with installing Fault Interrupter Electrical Outlet!!!!

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member pancho12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio
    Posts
    1

    Default HELP with installing Fault Interrupter Electrical Outlet!!!!

    I have a very big problem that I need some help with. I have to replace a fault interrupter electrical outlet in my mothers basement for her, the only outlet in the basement. When I took the plate off to replace it I seen that whoever installed it never put a ground wire through the conduit to the outlet. Is it safe for me to replace it and hook it up the same way, without the ground wire. Or is there a way to ground the fault interrupter electrical outlet out without running new wire? I'm no good at all with wiring and have no clue whatsoever. Maybe a short wire to the electrical box to the plug in? Need some help with this so I can get it fixed for her!!

  2. #2
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,139

    Default

    If the box is steel and the run is all in steel conduit back to the panel, you can use a ground pigtail from the box to the outlet. The screw on the end of the pigtail must be an approved screw with a machine screw thread.

    These components are available in the electrical dept of most decent hardware stores.




  3. #3
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    If this is a Ground fault receptacle ( GFCI ) is is legal to install it without a ground. It still provides the ground fault protection.
    Now, if that receptacle was supposed to have a ground by code when it was installed, that is different.

  4. #4
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,381

    Default

    It will still provide protection. The thing looks for a balance between the hot and neutral (return - eventually to ground) lead. If they are the same, nothing is leaking that could hurt you. If what's going back to the power panel isn't the same as what was coming out, then there's a ground fault - i.e., it's leaking, maybe through you, and it shuts the power off.

    If it has load and line leads, and both are being used, just make sure to match those up when installing, or it won't be providing protection to anything downstream on the load side.

    Having an actual ground just adds to the safety factor, but it is still safe and an approved installation.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Similar Threads

  1. Washer hookup electrical outlet box
    By DIY in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 09:43 AM
  2. Electrical Outlet For Welding
    By willplunk in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-14-2008, 08:19 AM
  3. Tracing a 110v outlet circuit fault
    By Keith Wolf Ent in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-15-2008, 07:18 AM
  4. Electrical outlet question
    By brosnt1 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 01-14-2008, 04:04 AM
  5. Electrical Work, Dryer Outlet
    By toolbeltbabe in forum Remodel Forum & Blog
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-20-2006, 08:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •