Pressure Switch Problem or...

Users who are viewing this thread

chainsawmike

Reaction score
The water pump on my well has started to run continuously. I turned the well power off, and removed the cover from the Square D pumptrol switch. When I lift on the rocker arm spring assembly to close the valve and open the contacts, then turn on the power, the well pump does not run. After water has been used, the pump turns on and continues to run.

Is this a clear indication of a bad switch or could it be another problem such as a leaking bladder tank or a leak in well line?

JMMJR

Reaction score
I'm no expert, but this is the exact same thing that happened to me when we had to replace our old convertible jet pump. It couldn't reach the cut-out pressure of the pressure switch. Once the pump was kicked on, it would run and run because it couldn't build enough pressure to trip the pressure switch to turn the pump off. Just as in your case, if I cut power to the pump and then restore it - the pump wouldn't come back on until water use dictated... But then, it would run continuously. First thing I did was replace the switch - no change.

Last edited:

chainsawmike

Reaction score
JJMR - Thanks, I was hoping it was maybe just the switch, but the discription of your situation and repair sounds plausible. Now I wondering if I can tackle replacing the pump. Guessing, the easiest thing to would be to match and replace the previous Flint & Wallings pump. Just wondering what other problems this would present?

chainsawmike

Reaction score
Maybe some additional information would help. I purchased the 40 year old house 5 years ago. Getting plenty of water, just that the pump keeps running.

No idea on the condition of the well, other than it is over 200' deep. The serial # on the Flint & Wallings pump is 94J105 and the housing is 9703, so guessing the pump is 12 years old.