(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Need to add ground wire

  1. #1
    DIY Member rayh78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    77

    Default Need to add ground wire

    Have a rental with UN grounded outlets. Panel box already upgraded.
    So instead of trying to pull new romex into old metal boxes I was planning on just adding a ground wire. Any tips on this?
    I was planning on just running a 12 gauge green wire ground to a double box I will put in the crawl space and then only have to fish a small ground wire to each box and then run each one back to double box and then wire nuts.
    Do I need a junction box or could I just mount one of the short ground bar clamps to a joist and use that for about 20 connections
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Homeowner Thatguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    1,460

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rayh78 View Post
    Have a rental with UN grounded outlets. Panel box already upgraded.
    So instead of trying to pull new romex into old metal boxes I was planning on just adding a ground wire. Any tips on this?
    I was planning on just running a 12 gauge green wire ground to a double box I will put in the crawl space and then only have to fish a small ground wire to each box and then run each one back to double box and then wire nuts.
    Do I need a junction box or could I just mount one of the short ground bar clamps to a joist and use that for about 20 connections
    Thanks
    Much controversy surrounds the correct interpretation of the NEC regarding this. I recommend an Internet search with majority of opinions ruling, but give Holt's forum somewhat more credibility.

  3. #3

    Default

    Two words.


    GFCI breakers.

    OK....maybe it's 5 words.

  4. #4
    DIY Senior Member Rich B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    282

    Default

    You say you have "old metal boxes". What type of wire is run from the panel to the metal boxes? If it is BX type wire the metal cover is carrying the ground and all you would need to do is add grounded outlets and connect the ground terminal on the outlet to the box with a grounding screw and pigtail.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rayh78 View Post
    Have a rental with UN grounded outlets. Panel box already upgraded.
    So instead of trying to pull new romex into old metal boxes I was planning on just adding a ground wire. Any tips on this?
    I was planning on just running a 12 gauge green wire ground to a double box I will put in the crawl space and then only have to fish a small ground wire to each box and then run each one back to double box and then wire nuts.
    Do I need a junction box or could I just mount one of the short ground bar clamps to a joist and use that for about 20 connections
    Thanks
    It is illegal to do electrical wiring in a rental unless you are licensed.

  6. #6

    Default

    In some locations it is illegal to do electrical wiring in a rental unless you are licensed.

    Fixed it for you.^

  7. #7
    DIY Member rayh78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    77

    Default

    Its the old 2 wire romex not BX cable.
    Its Ok to do work here if you are homeowner, pull permit and pass inspection.
    I had no problem when I did that when I upgraded the panel to breakers and from 100 amp to 200 amp.
    I will let you guess what I will do just for a ground wire.
    They also require a permit to replace a water heater. But still dont know of any licensed plumbers that do that even when they dont own the home.

  8. #8
    DIY Junior Member gluecan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
    In some locations it is illegal to do electrical wiring in a rental unless you are licensed.

    Fixed it for you.^
    ya and a electrician is not to drill holes in studs with out a builders lic

  9. #9
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,655

    Default Since when?

    quote; ya and a electrician is not to drill holes in studs with out a builders lic

    Where did that come from? And what jurisdiction would be dumb enough to even write such an ordinance, much less try to enforce it?

  10. #10
    Jack of all trades frenchie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY and Fire Island, NY
    Posts
    1,244

    Default

    I'll admit I sometimes wish they would....

    Plumbers, even more so.

    Last edited by frenchie; 11-02-2009 at 02:44 PM.
    Master Plumber Mark:

    there is nothing better than the
    manly smell of WD 40 in the air
    while banging away on brass with a chisel and hammer...

    it smells like......victory......

    do not hit your thumb...
    __________________
    Just so everyone's clear: I'm the POODLE in the picture ("french", get it?) The hot woman is my wife.

  11. #11
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frenchie View Post
    I'll admit I sometimes wish they would....

    Plumbers, even more so.

    I hear ya! To a lot of plumbers, framing is just in the way...who needs it? **tongue in cheek**

  12. #12
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thatguy View Post
    Much controversy surrounds the correct interpretation of the NEC regarding this. I recommend an Internet search with majority of opinions ruling, but give Holt's forum somewhat more credibility.
    I don't have a code ref, but I think this can't be done. Check Mike Holt's forum (no posting though...read the rules).

  13. #13
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    The cover of (very) old BX cannot be used as a ground since it does not have a bonding strip.

    The cover of AC which includes a bonding strip to ensure continuity can be. My 1950s AC has a bonding strip. It makes all the difference.

  14. #14
    DIY Member Ford2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Manchester, Vermont
    Posts
    32

    Wink Single conductor used for grounding two wire receptacles

    Correct if I am wrong, but didn't the old code books allow for such a
    thing. That you could connect to the nearest water pipe, (not plastic).
    Then it change to the grounding conductor had to be run all the way
    back to the service panel.

    I can't point to anyhing in the code that saids you can't do this.
    But I would make up my splices in a U.L listed junction box. Reason,
    all 120/240 volt circuit are splice together inside j-boxes/oulet boxes/
    switch boxes.

    If you are worry about the single conductor be damage, you could
    could install it ENT tubing. But I wouldn't, I would label it, so others
    would know what this wire is used for.

    Now will hear from the rest of the guys.

    Please note, the above is only my opinion.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •