(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Water draining bad, backup in basement... (Pictures included)

Exclamation Water draining bad, backup in basement... (Pictures included)

EDIT: More pictures/problems in posts below

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie homeowner with a problem, me and my wife just moved in this past September to an old 2 flat house on the Northside of Chicago.

Recently, we have been having some problems with our plumbing. When we take a shower, the water does not drain out of the bathtub at all, it fills up above our feet for a 5-10 minute shower and slowly drains out after that.

The issue is, in the basement adjacent to the bathrooms location on the first floor is the laundry room, and the floor drain seems to clog up and push water up out of it. Its stink sewage smelling water too. It is the only one that does this in the basement, but we never had any problems when it was warm out in September with water draining in the bathtub. About 3 weeks ago, we also had a plumber come out to the house and snake the bathtub when we only thought that was the problem. But recently we noticed water coming up through the floor drain in the basement also.

Could it just be that the pipes are frozen and not letting water get through?
    If so, wouldnt the hot shower water help free those pipes up?
    Or are we dealing with a nasty clog???

I have attached some pictures for reference....

This is a picture of the floor drain and some of the water that just came up after a short shower (those white things are mothballs haha)

Here is the only outside sewer grate on our house, I opened it up once before and there is nothing in there but a water collection spot

Here is a view of that outside sewer spot in reference to the floor drain

Thanks so much for any help!!!

-Mike

EDIT: SEE POST #11, THE BASEMENT GOT WORSE, iTS NOT FLOODED.
    Last edited by mike04gt; 12-27-2008 at 09:27 PM.