Will a CSV work for me?

Users who are viewing this thread

Tom Frederick

Reaction score
I am in SE Michigan. I have a well guy I trust and I need to replace my pressure tank (failed bladder) and I want to remove the canister "whole house rust filter" (a pain to swap out cartridges each month) and replace with a Iron Filter that self backwashes. As I am making changes, I investigated a VFD. Sounded good, but reading Valveman's posts I am leaning toward a CSV. I asked my well guy and he said "for homes with iron they are a pain in the but and often gum up or fail..." I suggested we put it after the rust filter. He said that was not possible as they have to be in before the pressure tank. I'm no expert. Can a CSV be put in between a rust filter and a water softener, AFTER the pressure tank? Any other insights on houses with iron and CSVs? I have 2.5 ppm iron in my water.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
Can a CSV be put in between a rust filter and a water softener, AFTER the pressure tank?
No. It needs to be before the pressure tank. Whether or not the iron would gum things up depends on what state it is (ferrous versus ferric) when it passes through the CSV. Either way, the CSV is cleverly designed to self-clean the 1 GPM port on it so it would never fully clog to where a pump could deadhead.

What may present more of a challenge is the aeration method prior to filtration. There are several methods, of which the amount and state (ferrous versus ferric) determine which is best.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com