Why are storage tanks always before water treatment?

Users who are viewing this thread

Blamus

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to well systems and I just had one drilled for a new house. I've lots of questions because I'm very curious as to how the system is designed and why etc. (my background is in chemical engineering). However, my first question is, in general, wouldn't the storage tank positioned after the water treatment make a lot more sense? This way, you're storing clean water. In power outage, or water treatment equipment failure you have a giant tank of clean water to use. Even if the well runs dry (fingers crossed), you can call and have water hauled in and use the same storage tank for clean water from a water truck. In fact, there are a few neighbors here simply dont have wells, they have a water contract and a big cistern.

So why don't people design the storage tank for the clean water rather than the pre-treated water?

we have very hard water here. smells of sulfur etc.

Reach4

Reaction score
One advantage of an atmospheric tank is that sediment settles and H2S can go away. You do have to remove sediment after a while however.

If you have a float-switch-controlled well pump, you don't want a filter deadheading the pump. There would be ways around that, including an pressure relief valve.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
Storage tanks are often deployed when the well cannot supply peak demands. Backwashing and regens might be too much of a demand on the well. Granted, it is possible to rig solenoid valves to use the stored water for backwashing/regens but it adds complexity.

LakeDwellerMN

Reaction score
I saw storage tanks used in locations like LLigetfa mentioned, where demand can exceed the pump/supply capacity for a period fo time. I saw this in a town in Mexico where the church added one in an attempt (successfully) to address that very issue.