Where's the heat!

Users who are viewing this thread

Burf21

Reaction score
So came time to replace the water heater.not even a deal, I've done this a few times tho I'm not a plumber by trade, my profession (C27,landscape contractor) at least provides my with a better than average knowledge of hydraulic systems.The two story home at which this R&R occurred I should say belongs to my 88 year old father in law , not really a DIY guy and a bit short on details as to the repair history of the home. Everything went as planned no issues until, after given time to heat the water I began to make hot water calls on the various fixtures. The very best I could produce was Luke warm water and the furthest being the kitchen sink never achieved that or maybe somewhere between lukewarm and cold. OK WTF now!
History: while my family and I weren't living there at the time, six years ago he had the now failed water heater replaced with the exact same issues. His recollection of its resolve is more than a bit fuzzy but my recollection of it involved, for example , doing things like turning on the ... cold water in the bathroom sink then the shower if you wanted a hot shower. So in an attempt to call hot water to the shower last night I did the same.the result mild lukewarm with periodic moments of slight improvement. I doubled down with reaching out of the shower and flushing the toilet... not bad,it was very close to normal. although I think in the past it may have scorched me.