Unusual Well and Pitless Adapter

Users who are viewing this thread

NotACarpenter

Reaction score
Went to pull a well this morning and found a setup I have not encountered before, we are unsure how to hook on to the pitless to pull the drop pipe.

From what I've researched, it appears to be a "crow's foot" (?) adapter with a release lever opposite of the pitless. Should there be a cable or rope attached to that to release it? Is that lever what holds pressure on the pitless to hold it in place?

Should I loosen what appears to be a set screw on the galvanized bar just under the well cap?

Any help or ideas would be appreciated.
IMG_1520.jpg
IMG_1518.jpg
IMG_1516.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not familiar with your pitless. I would look up "food grade penetrating oil".

I would guess that the pipe down to the pitless carries the weight, and the screw with the nut operates the leg. I am not a pro. It's good that you put a photo there. Nice photos.

I am confident that the lever provides the pressure to keep the o-ring up against whatever it presses against, which may be the side of the casing. My Merrill SMCK pitless does that, and another seal seals against the outside of the casing.

Since there is only one finger, you would not call it a crow's foot.

NotACarpenter

Reaction score
I am not familiar with your pitless. I would look up "food grade penetrating oil".

I would guess that the pipe down to the pitless carries the weight, and the screw with the nut operates the leg. I am not a pro. It's good that you put a photo there. Nice photos.

I am confident that the lever provides the pressure to keep the o-ring up against whatever it presses against, which may be the side of the casing. My Merrill SMCK pitless does that, and another seal seals against the outside of the casing.

Since there is only one finger, you would not call it a crow's foot.