Time to replace pressure tank?

Users who are viewing this thread

H22lude

Reaction score
I've been in my house since August 2018. First house with a well. Wanted to test my well pump and pressure tank. We have a 40/60 pressure switch. It is an Amtrol WP32SS 32 gallon tank manufactured in 2012. I had my wife open the cold side of our basement faucet and let the water drain until the switch kicked on at 40psi. It took 18 seconds to go back up to 60psi. Using that same sink I had her drain it when it got to 60psi. It took 3 minutes and 3 seconds to drain back to 40psi and only at 3 gallons (we also had a silicone hose hooked up to the faucet so it probably wasn't the best test). I then turned off the well power and drained the tank. I measured the air pressure at around 17psi.

I'm just learning about pressure tanks but this seems really bad. From my quick research, going from the cut on to cut off pressure, it should take about a minute. And the air pressure should be 38psi. How can I determine if the bladder is bad or if it just needs air?

Reach4

Reaction score
Turn off the pump, and drain the water pressure to zero. Presuming you have a submersible (underground) pump, use a compressor to bring the air pressure to 38.

Optionally, with the pump still off, you could wait an hour to see if the 38 psi held.

See if the run time of the pump improves when you turn the pump back on.

H22lude

Reaction score
Turn off the pump, and drain the water pressure to zero. Presuming you have a submersible (underground) pump, use a compressor to bring the air pressure to 38.

Optionally, with the pump still off, you could wait an hour to see if the 38 psi held.

See if the run time of the pump improves when you turn the pump back on.

Ok luckily I have a pancake compressor I can use. I'll have to get the valve fitting attachment.

If it holds at 38psi for an hour, why would it have been so low in the first place? Does that just mean the leak is small right now?

Reach4