No heat only at last two baseboard heaters

Users who are viewing this thread

hubboy

Reaction score
Hi everyone. Remodeling lower room in home had access to heating pipes so updated to rooms to slant fin baseboards from cast iron. Decided to change 20yr working old circulator pump, drain valves, and leaking hi- vent at burner. Put heat on bled every baseboard, drain , etc. Now have heat at all baseboards on both floors except the main floor two Baseboard heaters that are the farthest from the rest. If I bleed either one, the baseboard gets hotter and works perfectly. Then after a very short time, baseboard gets cold again. What am I missing? Thankyou for your time everyone. Gene

Fitter30

Reaction score
Pressure in the system? Any zone valves? When air bleed is on the two base boards that is creating flow that's why their getting warm. Old pump verses new are they the same?

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not an expert in hydronic heating, but I do know that cast iron radiators pumps run for a time while the CI radiators heated, then turn off while the stored energy in the CI dissipated while slant fin radiators only heat while water is circulating because the heat dissipates quickly.. are your new pumps/system set up for the new style radiators?

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
If your bleeding and not getting air then it's either the pump is too small, your new piping is wrong, or there's a valve in the off position.

The big question is are you sure the air is out of the system completely? If the air is definitely out I would check that you don't have any broken valves that are stuck closed. Then it's checking the circulator. If it's not big enough then it won't circulate the water far enough.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail 5th session completed 4/24/24.
Solutions
Reaction score