Needing advice on a few issues with my well setup

Users who are viewing this thread

Nate288

Reaction score
I'm new to the system in place at our house and I lack knowledge on well systems so I apologize if the questions are dumb lol. Our house well and softener system isn't working correctly from my understanding and research but I don't know what is correct and what isn't. problem #1 a new sub pump was installed last weekend, it tends to kick on more than it should and when it kicks on you can hear it clear across the yard (the old pump sounded and operated the same) its a 200 ft. well, feeding into a galvanized pressure tank>ion exchange unit>salt brine tank>bladder pressure tank>then out to the house. after the new pump was installed and ran for a few days I replaced the pressure relief valve at the top of the well housing I noted there wasn't any water at the base where the valve sits is that normal or should there be water near the top of the piping?
Problem #2 system pressure is bleeding out somewhere the switch is set to 30/50 once it hits 50 the pressure will drop to about 38ish and will stop dropping, the first pressure tank with the switch doesn't seem to be filling or storing water I can rock it back and forth with ease, the second tank downstream after the softener system seems to be holding water like it should, I can not rock it, but I have no clue how much water is in there. is it possible for a check valve or the softener system causing back feeding situation and the loud bang when the pump kicks on? special note on the galvanized pressure tank it does not have a Schrader valve or relief valve, only a gauge and the pressure switch and a downstream cutoff valve idk if that is normal. any advice/info or possible testing ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Reach4

Reaction score
How about a photo showing at least the line from the well, the pressure switch, the pressure gauge, and the input to the pressure tank.

Your description is unusual.