Help with cause of leak

Users who are viewing this thread

Lori Bachman

Reaction score
Hello!

I am new to well maintenance, we have lived with our well for 4 years but have lived blissfully unaware. We have had high ($450+) electric bills for months now and finally realized our submersible pump had been running continuously. When I shut off power to the pump we immediately lost pressure in our tank. So. We called our well company and this is where I need some advice.

A crew came out and told us we needed to replace our pump. We chose a variable speed Grundfos CU301 constant pressure controller with transducer system. Long story short, after replacing the pump and all drop pipe and electrical wire... Our new pump is still running constantly and not able to get up to 60 psi. We had two more guys come out (same company) and they were able to listen to the well while turning the pump on/off and told me the leak is not in the well but from the supply line to my house. The well company is planning to come out to dig around the well to see if they can find the leak.

What I know about the well:
4 inch diameter
400 feet deep
Pump is roughly 220 ft down
Grundfos pump
Pipe to house roughly 7 ft down
Merrill cap, spp pittless adapter (this is googling but based on what I saw I think this is right)