Green hair. Copper Pipe Corrosion - Diagnosis/Treatment?

Users who are viewing this thread

kingtut68

Reaction score
Hey everyone. My name is Zach and I'm new to this forum. I'm twenty-six years old, a first-time homeowner, and I have a serious problem. To top things off, I have no experience in plumbing or any other "handyman" skills for that matter. Anyways, on to the problem.

My girlfriend and I have been in our new place for just over two weeks now. Around week one she started complaining about her naturally bleach-blonde hair turning green. Initially I thought she was insane but after week two it became readily apparent I was wrong. I took to Google and realized I may have a much larger problem on my hands. I immediately called our small town water company. They acted like I was crazy but to my surprise they came by the house. They gave me a copy of the water quality report and took samples. They claim everything is within normal ranges and that they haven't had any similar complaints but they also said the would try lowering the chlorine levels and raising the pH. They told me to give it a few days and call back if I'm still having problems

So that brings us to now. I've just paid to have the greenish mineral buildup removed from my girl's hair at a salon. But now I'm more concerned about the source of the problem and bigger problems under the surface. My house was built in 1972 and has copper pipes. My girlfriend's hair turned green within two weeks of showering here and I've also noticed some light blue staining in the bathtub. At this point I'm extremely concerned about copper pipe corrosion. My goal is to pinpoint and treat the problem but I'm not sure how to go about it.