Floor not level, but tub is stable.....

Users who are viewing this thread

hhcibtpaun

Reaction score
Hey Folks,

I have been renovating a house for the past two years and now the details are biting me. I just finished up redoing all the drains and replacing all the copper with Pex. At one point I replaced the floor and managed to get a new cast iron tub up the steps (Kohler Villager 60 in. x 30.2 in. Soaking Bathtub). I picked up some Goboard to start preparing for my tiling journey and it was crooked as all hell when I set it on the tub flange. So, I popped a level on the tub and it and it is out about 3/8" to 1/2" over the length of the tub. Luckily the low side is where the drain is. I reviewed the Kohler install guide and basically I think the tub has four feet. The tub is stable and is quite the chore to move about, so I am not worried about any rocking or or movement with the tub. I think I just have some cosmetic issues...like the tile will need to be cut crooked (which I could do on the bottom course). I am using 22" tile, so that should not be too horrible to hide. Also, this is a rental, so if someone spots the 1/2" drop, so be it.

I think when I put the water in it, it all drains out without a problem. Its not like there is water standing in the tub after it is drained.

So, from a plumbing perspective is this an issue. I am thinking no, but I am not a plumber.

To get everything level I would have to shim up the floor and probably redo my overflow tube. The actual tub drain would probably be a PITA because everything is tight. I thought could just get a thicker drain shoe gasket. I think I saw one that was 3/8". If I cannot find a 1/2" I may only be able to shim to 3/8".

So, with all that said, I am probably in the camp to leave everything as is and cut some tile crooked. To shim the floor and redo the drains could take some time and possibly introduce more issues. Now if there is a major plumbing issue then I may rethink my position :).