Extra lip on old toilet flange?

Users who are viewing this thread

bigger_thumbs

Reaction score
I'm a beginner installing a toilet today as part of a remodel. Old floor tile came out and LVP was installed. I believe this is important due to slight change in finished floor height.

I don't know if this extra lip on the flange should be removed. It's a metal/iron of sorts and looks to be "one" with the flange. I poked at it a bit to see if I can break it free and it seems solid.

In my math/measurements, I do believe this raises the flange just a hair too high (5/8") off the finished floor but I'm not sure if I take a hammer/tools at it if I'll damage the flange and create a bigger and unnecessary problem.

Have you seen this before, and can I break it free without damaging the flange?

IMG_1062.JPG

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not sure what that "lip" is. If that is steel (magnet can tell), you probably are not going to remove it.

How much does that center bit stick up above floor level? Use a straight edge, perhaps supported on the ends to elevate the straight edge if necessary.
If 5/8, that probably fits under the new toilet. If too high, I am thinking a grinder could reduce the height enough to clear the toilet.

My first thought was that might be part of the old wax, and it would just lift out. But looking at the photo more, I am thinking that is probably not the case.

bigger_thumbs

Reaction score
I am not sure what that "lip" is. If that is steel (magnet can tell), you probably are not going to remove it.

How much does that center bit stick up above floor level? Use a straight edge, perhaps supported on the ends to elevate the straight edge if necessary.

My first thought was that might be part of the old wax, and it would just lift out. But looking at the photo more, I am thinking that is probably not the case.