Dual Shower Temperature Problem

Users who are viewing this thread

tg337

Reaction score
I recently converted my regular tub shower combo to a dual head standing shower. Each shower head has its own control via pressure balancing valve, and I plumbed it (basically) as shown in my attached crude drawing. I’m a novice when it comes to plumbing, but based on some research, I built the layout and hoped it would work without compromising pressure and/or temperature.

I was pleased to find that when both showers are on, there is no apparent reduction in pressure at all. However, after about 15 minutes, both showers start to gradually output colder and colder water.
I have tried to reason out why the hot water seems to fade away. At first I thought it was the (somewhat inexpensive) Luxier fixtures and valves I used from Home Depot. I ended up trying different mixing cartridges, and eventually even replacing one valve with a much more expensive Kohler valve. Nothing seems to be helping.

I’m starting to suspect that it could be my plumbing layout… Do I need a pressure balance loop here? Or should I change the valves to thermostatic?

I thought maybe my water heater can’t keep up with the output, but if I can fill the tub upstairs without running out, I figured it can’t be out of hot water. Also, I seem to still get warm/hot water from other fixtures in the house after the showers run cold, so it wouldn’t seem like the water heater is running out.

Could it be the hot water line doesn’t have good pressure on it? Or maybe that the two pressure balance valves are fighting each other somehow?
Any advice anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone!

Attachments

• Dual Shower.jpg
    Dual Shower.jpg
    48.1 KB · Views: 151

Breplum

Licensed plumbing contractor
Reaction score
Colorful and cute drawing.
Water heaters mix cold water into the bottom of the tank with a dip tube that goes 3/4 of the way down.