Checking pressure tank charge

Users who are viewing this thread

BassChashew

Reaction score
HI.

Noticed the pump turning on/off frequently and noticed inconsistent water pressure in the house.
So followed instructions to check pressure tank charge.
https://www.watertechonline.com/home/article/15529489/troubleshooting-a-bladder-pressure-tank

1. turned off power to pump
2. drained water out of tank
3. check the pressure from the tank with my tire pressure gauge.

it is ZERO. So, I'm a novice....
I brought the compressor to the attic and added air... still ZERO.
I decided to turn the well power back on... my tire pressure gauge went up to 70lbs PSI.
but of course, water was starting to fill back up. I drained air back to 30lbs, but that's with the pump on.

I don't know how to see how much air is in the tank when the pump power is off. air is in there, it's makes the pfft sound when I apply the gauge or my fingernail, but it won't register a pressure amount.

PSP35-T05-01 Berkeley Plus Premium Steel Pressure Tank (35 Gallons, PSP Series)

it's set at the 30/60 range, and the water gauge seems accurate, It just goes from 30 to 60 real fast with the showers/hoses running.

any thoughts???

thanks dude/ets!!!
-BassCashew

Reach4

Reaction score
Which of my symptoms indicate the tank it's holding air or the bladder is bad?
This one:
it is ZERO. So, I'm a novice....
I brought the compressor to the attic and added air... still ZERO.
Your tank has failed.

I decided to turn the well power back on... my tire pressure gauge went up to 70lbs PSI.
but of course, water was starting to fill back up. I drained air back to 30lbs, but that's with the pump on.