Search results

1. J

Tub and Shower Arm on one Vent

First thing, I'm not an expert and just started studying the concepts behind drains and vents for plumbing. However, I can see why you're concerned about Fig.A as the vacuum following the tub draining exists after flowing past the shower drain but before reaching the vent. It looks like Figure...
  2. J

Proposed Bathroom plumbing layout

Thank you for all the help Jeff !
  3. J

I'm thinking this could be the final version !!?? The Y fitting on the SOW would just remain there with a cap. A bit more work with the individual shower drain to the attic but it does simply and reduce work in other areas I think. Really appreciate all your feedback so far as a newbie to...
  4. J

Thanks John, Looks like I have room between the Joists so I drew up this other configuration. Here I show the Tub drain connected to the wet vent from the Sink using a Y fitting. With a trap arm length less than 6' I'm able to maintain grade using 1.5" pipe. Also, wondering if it matters much...
  5. J

GR, As per your suggestion, I found the appropriate table to reference for the shower trap and arm size. Looks good for 1.5" according to the Canadian National Plumbing Code. Thanks for explaining the issue with using a double wye.
  6. J

Thanks GReynolds. I get that he was talking about the tub and shower connection. I was just saying thanks for pointing it out and then I moved on to talking about the vent for the tub/shower connecting into the 3 inch copper stack. Sorry for the confusion. I can see how it reads and why it's...
  7. J

Jeff, thanks for the correction on the double wye ! The 3 inch stack is a copper pipe. It's going to be heavy to hold up once I cut out a section for fitting the upside down santee unless it's strapped somehow at the roof level. Wondering what your thoughts are if instead I make the vent...
  8. J

Terry Love- cancer update