Re-locating toilet drain

Users who are viewing this thread

fiveliter8

Reaction score
Re-locating toilet drain - added diagram

Hello all! Been a lurker here for a while now and there is a lot of good info here! Just a little about myself...I'm an industrial electrician by trade and mechanic/consumer electronics repairer on the side (hobby mostly), so plumbing isn't completely my forte! This leads me to my questions.

First, we will be finising our basement, and the builders of the home ran the master WC on it's own drain along with the tub and sink. This is in the middle of a planned hallway, so I want to tie the WC and sinks into the main 3" tree. Currently, the guest WC, tub, and sink, is plumbed into the main line with a san tee with a left and right 2" inlet.

current.jpg

I was wondering if I should give the Master WC it's own san tee below the master tie-in with another left and right inlet (pic shows same orientation, but it will be about 90deg off),
planned.jpg

or use a back-to-back fixture for the WC's then plumb the sinks and showers on a couple of double sanitary tees?
abs_fixture_cross.jpg

Also, the master sink and tub are plumbed just like the guest setup: WC sanitary tee with left and right inlets, with the sink and tub using it's own inlet. When I move these to the new location,

can I join the sink and tub into one line or do I need to run them separately to the new location?

If I can join them into a single line, it will be a horizontal run, so I should use a wye or combo, correct?

Finally, what is the maximum number of turns between trap and main drain line? I saw 135 deg max for trap to vent on this board, but not the other way.

Be as harsh or gentle as needed! :D

Thanks in advance!

Alex

(Yes, the orange in the pics on the 3" horizontal line is silicone sealant...leaky joint!)

Last edited:

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com