Whole house UV sterilization system help

Users who are viewing this thread

Acequia

Reaction score
Hi there, first post on this forum and I'm a COMPLETE amateur so apologies if anything I say is stupid :) quite a long question here but I've been worrying about this a lot!

I live in rural Spain in the mountains. We moved into this house a few months ago. Our water comes from an ancient Moorish 'acequia' system which is basically a manmade stream from a spring that is located perhaps a mile or so up from my house, which is shared on a rota by the neighbourhood. As such each home is responsible for its own sterilization/purification. There is a portion of the acequia near the spring where it is open and exposed to air, then it is piped once it reaches the outskirts of 'civilization'.

The acequia flows through this very rudimentary and not particularly well-maintained system into a 40,000 liter concrete tank in our garden. The outlet for the water is set a bit above the floor to minimize sediment but it is generally not a very clean tank. The worst problem with the tank is that we need to fill it every few weeks and in doing so it kicks up all the sediment. The previous owners sterilized the water using a chlorine system but we decided to go UV on the advice of a plumber here. I want to stress at this point that almost nothing in this area is done properly, as far as construction/engineering/systems is concerned, so we have to always assume the worst.

So this is the system he implemented and sorry if I'm describing this poorly I have about 24 hours of experience in this domain.

Tank-->Tap-->Sediment Filter (5 Micron, 2.5x10") --> Pump --> UV light --> House

The UV system is a Viqua D4 and can comfortably handle the maximum flow rate exerted by the pump BUT has a lower maximum operating pressure (125 psi) than the pump's maximum pressure (150 psi).