Time to tackle water quality: test results and my current setup

Users who are viewing this thread

Zayd

Reaction score
Good evening, all. I'd appreciate guidance on how I should tackle my water situation.

We moved into a house in Plymouth, Michigan, about two years ago and this is my first time on well and septic. A kitchen renovation and other higher-priority projects consumed my time until now, but I've always had the water setup on my mind.

Current setup
I have an older 2500 Econominder softener that is likely original to the house (1991). The filter mounted on the wall is a GE Smart Water Chemical Reduction Filter.

IMG_9546.JPG IMG_9547.JPG IMG_9548.JPG

Test Results
I sent samples to the state laboratory and received the following results.

1669855460105.png

1669855807512.png

Concerns
1. The water leaves lots of mineral buildup on fixtures like shower heads and orange stains in the toilets, sinks, and showers.
2. The taste is definitely iron-y, with some other flavors occasionally peppered in there. My wife and daughters also complain about what the water is doing to their hair, whatever that means.
3. The brine tank consumes salt very slowly -- as in one bag of salt in 1.5 years with a family of five. I've poked down through the semi-melded-together mass of salt and it doesn't appear there is a salt bridge underneath it all. There is a few inches of salty water at the bottom.

Based on my reading here, it seems that these should be my actions:

- I may need to address the coliform, although we have been drinking this water with no ill effect. According to the state, it could have been contaminated at collection.