Solderless Copper Bonding

Users who are viewing this thread

ufodriver2

Reaction score
Website
www.orchidglassart.com
Looking for feedback / comments concernig solderless copper bonding.

I am re-doing a bath and although I have no issues soldering copper pipes I ran across "JACO Just for Copper" solderless copper. They claim it has been extensivley tested, is safe for gas /water to 600 lbs, and is safe in all application aspects from adherence to heat.

Has anyone had any negative experience as I am considering using this product to plumb my new bath pipes all around.

:cool: Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
Solderless copper connections

I've never heard of this before. As a non professional, I know there are many things I haven't heard of, but I think a variation of the old adage, "If a ain't broke, don't fix it" would be approprate here. We KNOW solder works, so why experment with something new?

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
glue

Plastic pipes that are meant to be glued together can separate after many years. Why would you, or anyone, want to trust gluing together pipes that were not intended to be glued, then cover them up with sheetrock, paint, and tile? If I were to do that I would spend many sleepless nights wondering if it was as "safe" as the advertisements said. As far as gas piping, I am sure any inspector who saw a glued copper gas system would burst out laughing as he wrote the red rejection slip.

Bob's HandyGuy

Reaction score