Remove/move/cap cast iron cleanout and add new one above?

Users who are viewing this thread

Celswick

Reaction score
I seem to find my way here from Google searches often, so I figured I might actually sign up and post a question.

For starters, I have no plumbing experience before my current project....

I'm doing a partial finish in my basement, which means adding walls etc. I'm doing everything with permits.

I'm redoing plumbing against an exterior wall. There is a metal vent stack coming up out of the foundation, and next to that is the drain stack, in Abs. The drain stack runs from the kitchen sink directly above., and then into a cast iron Wye in the foundation.
The 45 side previously was used to drain a mop sink that also collected from the washing machine.

I'm attaching a diagram of my current mock up for a new washing machine drain line on one side, and a sink on the other.
They connect to the drain stack with a double fixture tee just above the cast iron hub/wye.

My main issue I'm trying to figure out right now is what to do about the cleanout.
My understanding is the 45 side of the cast-iron wye should have been a cleanout and not used for the sink drain ever.
Fine.
But I'm building an interior wall in front of the stack now, which means giving access to the CO. It's at a tricky angle, and might end up behind either the sink, or dishwasher I plan to install there.

So I'm thinking I'd place an sanitary tee in the vertical stack, above the counter. That instead of a cleanout Tee because there's about 8" between the stack and the face of where the wall would be, so I figured having the directional help would be a good idea....

I believe having the cleanout above the double fixture, and above the height of the washing machine standpipe, is all well and good?
But what do I have to do about the old cleanout opening since it would be covered by a wall?
Is it OK to just cap it? I have a feeling that's a hard no....