New Home Water Filtration System with Well Water

Users who are viewing this thread

mpbaker82

Reaction score
Hello,

First, let me start by saying i'm a electrician by trade so if you need any help, im sure i can be of assistance.

Secondly, I was hoping to get some direction from some professionals much like yourselves.
My wife and I are building a new single level home and this home will use a well and septic system.

I’ve spent about two weeks or so researching all the data I can get my hands on from the Web to YouTube and I think I have a decent understanding… here is where you guys come in…

First let me note that the well hasn’t been drilled yet but I’m being told the average is anywhere from 20-30gpm with a total hardness of around 25gpg. Obviously, after the drill, the water will be tested and the actual well water perimeters figured out, ill adjust accordingly.

From other homes in the area, I’ve noticed that the inlet pipe from the well is 1”… I have mixed feeling on this. My research shows that a inlet should match the well available output. I'm thinking if the well can do 20 or even 30gpm, it might be worth requesting a 1.5” inlet…

Based on the average gpg of fixtures such as toilets, faucets, washers, dishwasher, etc.. we have estimated a max usage at any given time to be about 11-12gpm load (washing machine, shower, toilet, and sink) I think I may have estimated high on this one…

Water Filtration Design:
Before Water Filtration System (house as built)
From Well > Pressure Tank > To Home Hot/Cold = yuck!

After: With Home Water Filtration System
From Well > 50micron Spin down Filter > Pressure Tank (w/ Continuous Switch) > Big Blue 20” (5 Micron) > Big Blue 20” (open) > Water Softener Fleck 5600 > Big Blue 20” (Carbon) > To Home Hot/Cold

Filter Options:
20” Big Blue (1” npt) with filter media rated for 15gpm (estimating 2.5gpm loss for each inline filter, and .5 for every elbow)
or