New Construction Basement Plumbing Advice

Users who are viewing this thread

KristofMI

Reaction score
I'm building my house in Michigan. They use IPC code. I need to rough in basement bathroom before they pour the slab. Do this drawing and connections looks right to you? On the other side of the wall we will have a washer and dryer.
Plumbing assembly.jpg

Plumbing assembly Det1.jpg

Plumbing assembly Det2.jpg

It's my first time ever doing and designing rough plumbing so please go easy one me ;)

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score
Generally I think your schematic looks good. I couldn't verify whether a toilet vent can accept the discharge of the clothes washer as a wet, but I didn't see it excluded. The lavatory sink definitely can. The sump basin requires its own vent to allow for displacement of air as its being filled up.

KristofMI

Reaction score
Generally I think your schematic looks good. I couldn't verify whether a toilet vent can accept the discharge of the clothes washer as a wet, but I didn't see it excluded. The lavatory sink definitely can. The sump basin requires its own vent to allow for displacement of air as its being filled up.
I can definitely move it to vanity vent. And yes about the basin vent. I just simply forgot to add it. Also it's just a sketch not to dimension

KristofMI

Reaction score
Will the above work? Also IPC requires 1.5" minimum for vents. Can I do all vents 2" ? Is it going to cause problems down the road? Like finding connectors/fittings? Or connecting sinks.

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score
I almost didn't see the difference. The laundry and toilet now have their own dedicated vents. That works. I don't know if the original drawing wasn't just fine, I just don't have the first hand experience with the IPC to know out of hand if laundry can't wet vent, I just think it can't.

But each fixture individually vented is fine.