Need advice on air admittance valve replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

Kezug

Reaction score
I seem to have a failed AAV. At first, my drain line was blocked with crud. I cleaned all the crud and snaked into the wall. All is clear. However, while that fixed one issue, I still was unable to drain. I was flabbergasted and I finally buttoned up the pipe and removed the AAV and voila, the water drained. I was able to run the water and no more did the water back up. But once I put the AAV back, bam, no more drainage...or extremely slow drainage. The AAV, when removed seemed to still have a flapper working as I could feel it when I tipped it or shook it.

So, here is the AAV....I have no experience, thus here to ask those who do and/or are pro's...is there a specific replacement AAV I must adhere too or can I use any AAV that I can screw into the 1-1/2", 2" as stamped on my existing AAV?
I would prefer to get/replace with same exact, but unsure if thats attainable or maybe I dont since the damn thing is only 14 years old!

Here is my current
20220907_210333.jpg

Kezug

Reaction score
Additional question. The AAV has a 20 DFU stamped on it. However, at Menards, Will this replacement unit from Menards WORK (says 20 DFU Branch/8 DFU Stack? I have no idea if this will be sufficient?

Oatey® Sure-Vent® Air Admittance Valve - 20 DFU Branch/8 DFU Stack

Model Number: 392305 Menards ® SKU: 6932960​

Here is a picture of the location for which it exists today. It is under the kitchen sink, there is a dishwasher feed tube as well.
All the plumbing here you see was done from the build of house, we are first home owners. Built since 2008, no issues.

20220907_211055.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score