Low water pressure

Users who are viewing this thread

lindsayA

Reaction score
A little bit of history first. Our house was built in 1920. We live in southern Illinois. We have a 3 bedroom/1 bathroom house we are remodeling. The water pressure in the kitchen sink has decreased within the last year. The shower pressure has never been great. We have tried multiple sinks and shower heads with no luck. The house had metal pipes and my husband had been replacing as he went with pvc. Since he had the day off yesterday he replaced all of the metal pipes in our basement with pvc thinking that would solve the water pressure problem. No such luck. I have no knowledge of plumbing and he doesn’t have a ton but he doesn’t want to hire somebody. I can take more pictures if you let me know what you need. Thanks for any advice or troubleshooting you can provide!

Attachments

• IMG_4383.jpeg
    IMG_4383.jpeg
    36.6 KB · Views: 77
  • IMG_4381.jpeg
    IMG_4381.jpeg
    73.6 KB · Views: 71
  • IMG_4380.jpeg
    IMG_4380.jpeg
    65.6 KB · Views: 73

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score
It looks like the diameter of your water main is reduced right at the meter! Water volume and conversely water pressure is affected by the diameter of the piping throughout your plumbing system from the meter to each outlet.

Water piping should be "Sized" to match the total load of the house. Each fixture has a water usage rating. And the distance that the water piping travels is calculated into the sizing. So the total load and the furthest distance of fixture of the house is how we calculate the main water pipe size.

Some reading here for Illinois plumbing code for water piping.

Sizing starts here

lindsayA

Reaction score
It looks like the diameter of your water main is reduced right at the meter! Water volume and conversely water pressure is affected by the diameter of the piping throughout your plumbing system from the meter to each outlet.